STANISLAUS CONNECTIONS

A Modesto Peace/Life Center Publication

Website Links Page

NOTICE: The web links on this site are provided for information only. Stanislaus Connections and the Modesto Peace/Life Center do not necessarily support or endorse the information and services provided through these links. If you find a link to an inappropriate site, please notify jcostello@igc.org. Thank you.

    OUR NEW COMMUNITY RADIO STATION! KCBP 95.5 FM streaming at: http://kcbpradio.org/index.html

    COVID-19 Screening Tool can help you understand what to do next about COVID-19. Let’s all look out for each other!  START SCREENING (Click) 

    Guide to Colon Cancer: Risk Factors, Diagnosis, and Survival: https://www.everlywell.com/blog/colon-cancer/colon-cancer-statistics/    

    Saving Money Through Water Conservation: https://www.bankeditor.com/saving-money-through-water-conservation/

    Prepare your finances for a natural disaster: https://www.bankrate.com/banking/savings/how-to-prepare-your-finances-for-a-natural-disaster/

    Build an Urban Home Garden: https://porch.com/advice/building-urban-vegetable-garden-home

    Essential Money Management for Youth in Transition: https://www.creditdonkey.com/youth-transition.html

    Digital Resources for Mental Health: https://socialworklicensemap.com/social-work-resources/mental-health-resources-list/

    Age & Eyesight: https://www.visioncenter.org/blog/aging-and-eyesight/

    Corneal Ectasia: https://www.visioncenter.org/conditions/corneal-ectasia/

    Sleep Calculator: https://www.terrycralle.com/sleep-calculator/

    International Phone Use: https://www.verizon.com/info/technology/international-cell-phone-use/

    How to Save for College: https://blog.mint.com/saving/how-to-save-for-college/

    Testicular Cancer Resources: https://tommyjohn.com/blogs/news/testicular-cancer-statistics

    Snooze Clinic-CPAP Machines, supplies: https://snoozeclinic.com/

    When to Consider Rehab for Addiction: https://nldetox.com/when-to-consider-rehab-for-addiction/

    Resources for Veterans & the Homeless: https://drpaulbythesea.com/veterans-and-homelessness-how-to-seek-help/

    Massachusetts Addiction Resources: https://www.arkbh.com/

    Opioids & Pain: Traditional vs. Alternative Approaches: https://ocsuboxone.com/chronic-pain-opioid-treatment-and-alternatives/   

    Substance Abuse Treatment Services in the United States: https://www.addicted.org/

    Comprehensive Addiction Services: https://elevaterehab.org/

    Teen Vaping: What Parents Need to know: https://opustreatment.com/teen-vaping-what-parents-need-to-know/

    Transformation Addiction Services: https://transformationsbythegulf.com/

    Increase Happiness and Productivity at work: https://www.companydebt.com/how-to-increase-happiness-and-productivity-in-the-workplace/

    Alcoholism in Veterans: https://www.rehabspot.com/alcohol/who-alcoholism-affects/veterans/

    Small Business Grants available to Female Entrepreneurs: https://www.aabrs.com/small-business-grants-for-women/

    Donation Pick Up or Drop Off Options Near You: https://www.lifestorage.com/blog/moving/donation-pick-up-drop-off-near-you/

    Free Grants for Felons: http://freegrantsforfelons.org/

    Recovery from Opioids: https://www.symetriarecovery.com/

    What Can You Do with a Degree in Public Administration? - https://www.publicservicedegrees.org/what-can-you-do/public-administration-degree/
    Guide to Online Public Administration Degrees -
https://www.publicservicedegrees.org/online-degrees/public-administration-programs/

    Tips for Kids to Save Energy: https://www.saveonenergy.com/learning-center/post/tips-for-getting-your-kids-to-save-energy/  

    Mental Health Issues Affecting High School & College Students: https://universityhq.org/resources/students-mental-health/

    Find a Highly Experienced Mesothelioma Lawyer: https://www.mesotheliomalawyercenter.org/mesothelioma-claims-law/

    Mesothelioma Justice Network: https://www.asbestos.net/mesothelioma/cell-types/epithelioid/

    Veterans Resource: Mesothelioma: https://www.mesotheliomahub.com/mesothelioma/ 

    Mesothelioma and Veterans: https://mesothelioma.net/mesothelioma-and-veterans/    

    Addiction Treatment for Veterans: https://www.graniterecoverycenters.com/resources/addiction-treatment-for-veterans

    Addiction Resources for American Communities: https://www.addictiongroup.org/addiction/

    Alcohol Rehab Help: https://alcoholrehabhelp.org/addiction/

    Mixing Propranolol and Alcohol: https://alcoholrehabhelp.org/interactions/propranolol/

    11 Best Drug and Alcohol Rehab Centers For Veterans: https://www.addictionresource.net/best-drug-rehab-centers/veterans/

    Addiction Resources for Parents: https://www.greenmountaintreatmentcenter.com/resources/parents/

    Opioid Recovery Program: https://www.symetriarecovery.com/

    Creating a Peaceful Home to Improve Mental Health for Veterans: https://beeboom.co/creating-a-peaceful-home-to-improve-mental-health-for-veterans/

    Financial planning for a natural disaster: https://www.bankrate.com/banking/savings/how-to-prepare-your-finances-for-a-natural-disaster/

    Comprehensive Resources on E-waste:

        1. https://www.newfanglednetworks.com/pages/e-waste-recycling-guide-for-small-businesses

        2. http://www.recycling-guide.org.uk/materials/computers.html

        3. https://www.thebalancesmb.com/introduction-to-electronics-e-waste-recycling-4049386

    Reduce your E-Waste here: https://www.soda.com/video/reduce-your-e-waste/

    Best at Home Bodyweight Workouts: https://barbend.com/best-at-home-bodyweight-workouts/

    Changing Careers: Finding Your Place in Healthcare https://www.edumed.org/medical-careers/transitioning-to-healthcare/

    Eco-Friendly Guide for Airbnb Hosts: https://bnbdealer.com/blog/green/

    Alcohol-Related Medical Conditions: https://www.dwiminneapolislawyer.com/alcohol-related-medical-conditions/  

    How Does Mental Health Affect Your Sleep? https://sleepopolis.com/education/how-does-mental-health-affect-your-sleep/

    College Students Guide to Ergonomics: https://unbreakyourself.com/students/

    44 Statistics About Ovarian Cancer: https://www.asbestos.com/cancer/ovarian/ovarian-cancer-statistics/

    Calculate your blood alcohol: https://ratesforinsurance.com/guides/bac-calculator/

    Can DNA predict addiction?:  https://knowyourdna.com/guides/can-a-dna-test-predict-addiction/

    Preventing Teen Prescription Misuse: https://www.singlecare.com/blog/preventing-teen-prescription-misuse/

    How to Dispose of Expired Prescription Drugs: https://www.medicalwastepros.com/2016/08/dispose-expired-prescription-medication/

    Financial Help for Single Mothers: https://financialassistanceforsinglemothers.com/

     Tips for Moving Sustainably: https://www.atlasvanlines.com/moving-blog/3-tips-for-moving-sustainably

    Guide to Hazards of Zantac (attorney group): https://florinroebig.com/dangerous-drugs/zantac/

    100 Places That Offer Military Discounts: https://consumer-champion.org/top-100-places-that-offer-military-discounts/

    Effects of Drug Addiction on Oral Health: https://www.newmouth.com/oral-health/effects/drug-addiction/-

    Teaching Degree Programs: https://www.teachingdegrees.com/

    Speech Pathology Degrees: https://www.speechpathologydegrees.com/

    How to Get loans to Study Abroad: https://lendedu.com/blog/student-loans-for-study-abroad/

    Education & Teaching Guide Speech Pathology: https://www.speechpathologydegrees.com/

    Preparing for a Natural Disaster: https://wikibuy.com/blog/disaster-preparedness-budget-c731dabaa454

    Top Environmental Issues Today: https://www.bottlestore.com/environmentalissues

    How to Become an Addiction Counselor: https://addiction-counselor.org/how-to-become/

    The Best Auto Insurance for 2020: https://money.com/best-auto-insurance/                  

    GUIDE: 55 Ways to Save Money on Internet Safety: https://cooltechzone.com/save-on-internet-safety

    Dangers of mixing sleeping pills and alcohol: https://bestmattress.reviews/sleeping-pills-and-alcohol/

    Vape Danger: https://www.vapedanger.com/health-risks/nicotine-addiction/ 

    Resources and Guides for Students: https://www.bestcolleges.com/

    PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION CAREERS SUITE:

            Public Administration Program Fundamentals: https://www.bestcolleges.com/features/public-administration-degree-programs/

            Public Policy Career Overview: https://www.bestcolleges.com/careers/law/public-policy/

            Public Health Career Overview: https://www.bestcolleges.com/careers/healthcare/public-health/

       PTSD & Sleep: https://sleepopolis.com/education/ptsd-and-sleep/                

      Another Guide to PTSD and Sleep: https://healthysleepy.com/ptsd-sleep/

     Comprehensive resource: Car Recycling: https://www.junkcarmedics.com/blog/car-recycling

    Sustainable Home Decor Guide: Ethical and Eco-Friendly Design Tips: https://www.fivestarpainting.com/blog/2019/november/sustainable-home-decor/#~H8X8091

    Mattress Disposal Guide: https://www.mattressadvisor.com/mattress-disposal-guide/

    5 Eco-Friendly Hacks to Eliminate Obnoxious Stains: https://tommyjohn.com/blogs/news/eco-friendly-stain-remover

    Basement and Home Energy Efficiency Guide: https://www.basementguides.com/basement-and-home-energy/               

    How to Get Teens to Stop Vaping: https://sunshinebehavioralhealth.com/vaping/

    Consumers Mortgage Guide: https://www.consumersadvocate.org/mortgage-rates

    Blood Alcohol Calculator: https://alcoholaddictioncenter.org/resources/bac-calculator/

    Free Grants for Women: http://freegrantsforwomen.org/

    How Climate Change affects human health

    Contingency Management effective in fighting addiction for veterans: https://www.sunshinebehavioralhealth.com/veterans/

    What veterans should know about sleep.

    Substance Abuse and Addiction Treatment for veterans.

    More Substance Abuse and Addiction Treatment for veterans: https://www.floridarehab.com/resources/veterans

    Staying Green While Traveling: Reduce Your Carbon Footprint!

    Substance Abuse Resource for CA residents: https://www.addictioncenter.com/

    Addiction Center Inpatient rehab: https://www.addictioncenter.com/Treatment/Inpatient-Rehab/

    Energy Efficient Tax Credits Guide

·              25 Sustainable and Eco-Friendly Alternatives for Your Home

        31 Ways to Ditch Plastic in Every Room

·                               How to Save Energy During the Summer

·                    How to Use Coffee Grounds in Your Garden

    Waste Water Calculator: https://www.mrrooter.ca/about/expert-tips/water-conservation/drip-calculator/

         Alcohol Addiction Guide: https://alcoholaddictioncenter.org/

    Alcohol Self-Assessment Test: https://www.drugrehabconnections.com/addiction/alcohol/self-assessment/

          Grants for Native Americans: http://grantsfornativeamericans.org/

    Energy Efficiency for Small Businesses: https://www1.fsgi.com/energy-efficiency-guide/

    Junk Car Recycling Facts and Info: https://theclunkerjunker.com/recycle-junk-cars.php

    The Clunker Junker automotive recycling services: https://theclunkerjunker.com/

    Military Housing Resource Guide for active duty military, veterans, and their families: https://www.apartmentguide.com/military/

    Climate Change Resource: https://publichealthonline.gwu.edu/how-to-reduce-climate-change/

    Free Grants for Veterans (and others): http://freegrantsforveterans.org/

    A Complete Guide To Driving Electric & Hybrid Cars: https://www.hendy.co.uk/electric-hybrid-cars-21st-century/

    The Beginners Guide to Driving Electric Cars: https://www.exchangeandmart.co.uk/electric-cars-guide

    Information for people and their loved ones suffering from Addiction: Drugrehab.org,

    THE JOB CIRCLE Modesto Sound offers Audio Technician training classes for those 13 and older. Hands-on learning Live Sound, etc. $200 (limited scholarships available).     209-573-0533, studio@modestosound.org; ModestoSound.org

    Website that helps low-income women with finding grants and financial assistance programs. Free Grants For Women,

    Home Insulation & Energy Efficiency Guide: https://www.buildingmaterials.co.uk/resources/home-insulation-guide/

     Interactive Disaster Database Map: https://www.adt.com/natural-disasters

     Fiscal Tiger’s guide on Eco Friendly Habits for a Green Lifestyle: https://www.fiscaltiger.com/resources-for-eco-friendly-habits-and-a-green-lifestyle/

    The Simple Guide to Healthy Living on a Budget in 2019: https://www.thesimpledollar.com/the-simple-guide-to-healthy-living-on-a-budget/ 

    Ways to conserve water at home: https://www.homeadvisor.com/r/home-water-conservation/

    Vehicle Recycling: An Eco-Friendly Alternative: https://sellmax.com/car-recycling/

    American Addiction Resources: https://americanaddictioncenters.org/

    Struggling with addiction? Pinnacle Peak Recovery has an extensive list of support groups at https://www.pinnaclepeakrecovery.com/drug-alcohol-addiction-support-gro

    Tulane University's School of Social Work has released a resource guide on homelessness and poverty among students and youth.

    Green Living guide: https://www.couponchief.com/guides/guide_to_cheap_green_living

    Essential Guide to Sinkholes or Ground Settlement issues in Florida. Interactive, searchable maps for affected properties: sinkholemaps.com

    Veterans and addiction: https://www.drugrehab.com/addiction/veterans/

    Common Sleep Disorders in Veterans: https://www.tuck.com/veteran-sleep/

    How Does Trauma Affect Sleep? https://www.tuck.com/trauma-and-sleep/

    Veterans Comprehensive Guide to Drug Abuse: https://www.amethystrecovery.org/veterans-comprehensive-guide-to-drug-abuse/

    Veterans Resources from Recovery Village: https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/resources/veterans/  

    Veterans suffering from addiction and depression, seek help, explore support groups at https://www.denverrecoverycenter.com/help-for-veterans-struggling-with-addiction/

    Student's Guide to Studying Abroad - https://www.accreditedschoolsonline.org/resources/study-abroad/  

    Prepare for virtually any natural disaster with the Natural Disaster Preparedness Guide: www.expertise.com/home-and-garden/home-preparation-for-natural-disasters

    Complete guide to support groups at http://www.friendsaregoodmedicine.com/pdf/FriendsDirectory.pdf

    Calculators for a sustainable environment: car payment and car use calculators links to many calculators to reduce energy footprints: http://www.carpaymentcalculator.net/calcs/environmental.php

    Comprehensive guide to help homeowners navigate through the complexities of homeowners insurance providers and policies. Tips, expert advice, and researched data to help you compare different provider options. Visit http://www.reviews.com/homeowners-insurance/

    Homeowner’s Guide to Sustainability: https://www.angieslist.com/articles/homeowners-guide-sustainability.htm    

    Valley Improvement Project's mission: to improve the quality of life of under-represented and marginalized residents of California?s Central Valley. Ongoing events visit V.I.P. at  http://valleyimprovementprojects.org/about. Email: valleyimprovementprojects@gmail.com

Alternative News Sources:

Free Speech Internet Television Michael Moore Pages The Earth Times--"Environment. Education. Society. Business. Culture. Media. Nature. Politics. Population. Online News -- Daily on the Web"

FAIR--Fairness and Accuracy In Reporting

Norman Solomon: https://www.normansolomon.com/       

Green Party News Page

Websites for Northern California Peace and Justice Groups

Peace & Justice Network of San Joaquin County RESOURCE CENTER FOR NONVIOLENCE - Santa Cruz
Tri-Valley CARE (Communities Against a Radioactive Environment) - Livermore
Mount Diablo Peace Center - Walnut Creek
Sonoma County Center for Peace & Justice California Peace Action - Berkeley

Grassroots Peace and Justice sites beyond Northern California

Peace Action The Dallas Peace Center, the oldest and largest peace and justice organization in North Texas
Ground Zero Center for Nonviolent Action, Poulsbo, WA The Institute for Peace and Justice, St. Louis, MO
Peace & Justice Center, Burlington, VT
Traprock Peace Center, Deerfield, Massachusetts "Together We Explore Nonviolence, Foster Community, Work to end war, Promote Communication & Take Initiatives on Justice and Environmental Issues"  The link page on this website has an outstanding collection of related links.

Living Lightly Links (Environment)

Global Food Initiative: https://www.ucop.edu/global-food-initiative/

EcoNetSustainable Development--from the President's Council on Sustainable Development

The Center for a New American Dream--responsible consumption
The Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice Sierra Club-Yokuts Chapter Northern Alaska Environmental Center Stanislaus Chapter Audubon Society Friends of the River

Protecting the Environment

League of Conservation Voters

Justice Links

Links to Justice sites from The Justice Store

Amnesty International: https://www.amnesty.org/en/

Global Exchange

Combating Poverty and Hunger

Heifer Project International Church World Service
Habitat for Humanity

Diversity/Multicultural Links

    Multicultural Café: https://www.library.illinois.edu/mortenson/wp-content/uploads/sites/64/2017/07/19_cafe.pdf

    2020 Multicultural Events Calendar: https://www.diversityresources.com/2020-diversity-calendar/ 

Miscellany

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project--a more scholarly look at writings by and about Dr. King

People For Peace/World Peace 2000

United Church of Christ Justice and Peace Ministries Page
Justice and Peace on the Web-links from the UCC

American Friends Service Committee

The Nonviolence Web

The Center for Public Integrity

Planning and Conservation League

Bruderhof Peacemakers Guide - Fighting For Peace